Germany Wins the Battle of World Cup over Argentina


Germany created history and became the first European team to win FIFA World Cup on South American soil, beating Argentina 1-0 in the finals. Thanks to Mario Gotze’s extra time goal at the Maracana Stadium here Sunday.

Both teams were locked 0-0 at the end of the full-time with the match going into extra time. Gotze’s brilliant 113rd minute goal broke the hearts of Argentina group.

Fans cheered, shouted and clapped with groups of fans jumping into the air and hugging each other, making so much noise. Flares lighted the stage and sent plumes of smoke into the sky.

German foreign minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier, who watched the final in Berlin with Argentina’s ambassador said, “We dreamed of becoming world champions and that dream came true.”

Here is a look at the winner of each award to conclude the world-wide event.

Complete list of awards:

fifa awards

Golden Ball

2014 Golden Ball Winner:

Award Name Country
Golden Ball Lionel Messi Argentina
Silver Ball Thomas Mueller Germany
Bronze Ball Arjen Robben Netherlands

Golden Boot

2014 Golden Boot Winner:

Award Name Country
Golden Boot James Rodriguez Colombia
Silver Boot Thomas Mueller Germany
Bronze Boot Neymar Brazil

Golden Glove

2014 Golden Glove Winner:

Award Name Country
Golden Glove Manuel Neuer Germany


Best Young Player

2014 Best Young Player Winner:

Award Name Country
Winner Paul Pogba France
Posted in: FIFA World Cup 2014

About the Author:

Post a Comment

+ 2 = 3

banner ad